Karen Lorimer to receive the National Media Awards Foundation’s 2020 B2B Leadership Award

The National Media Awards Foundation proudly congratulates Karen Lorimer, winner of the 2020 B2B Leadership Award. This prestigious award recognizes outstanding career achievement, contributions to the field, and overall leadership of a member of the Canadian B2B media industry.


Lorimer’s 40-year career in Canadian media and publishing started in a five-person publishing house as an advertising sales representative. Shortly after, she moved on to Southam Communications, where Lorimer not only participated in all steps of the publishing process (advertising sales, market research, editorial, circulation, and more), but worked on a wide-range of publications (from Process Industries Canada to Verve).

Gail J. Cohen, former Editor-in-Chief of Canadian Lawyer , Law Times and FindLaw.ca, says “the job of publisher was made for [Karen].”

This experience “set the stage for the rest of her career that included Vice-President of Sales and Marketing at custom publisher Dovetail Communications, President of her own consulting company 4-Plus Communications Inc., as well as an instructor at Humber College,” recalls Cohen.

In 2005, Lorimer was hired as a Director and Group Publisher at CLB Media Inc., tasked with growing the company’s professional publications and launching magazines for in-house counsel and law students. “[T]here was finally someone in the driver’s seat who could look after all aspects of the publications,” says Cohen.

Niel Hiscox, President of Universus Media Group Inc. and former VP of CLB Media Inc., watched Lorimer “mentor staff both young and old. Under Karen’s leadership we launched new print magazines and innovative digital products. Karen improved our revenues and drove new editorial ideas, always with a view to delivering the highest possible quality in everything we did.”

CLB Media Inc. was sold to Thomson Reuters in 2010. Lorimer spent nine years there as the Director and Group Publisher of the Media Solutions Division, working on publications that included Canadian Lawyer, Law Times, Canadian Lawyer InHouse, Canadian HR Reporter, Lexpert, Canadian Occupational Safety, and FindLaw Canada.

“Karen’s ability to motivate people was extraordinary… She would adjust her approach to each individual to meet his/her needs and adapt to their learning style,” says Ivan Ivanovitch, Director, Business Development & Operations, McCarthy Tetrault, on Lorimer’s leadership approach while at Thomson Reuters. “Karen would encourage a healthy degree of disagreement to challenge the team’s assumptions and beliefs to drive innovation.”

Indeed, there’s no shortage of praise for Lorimer’s leadership: “Karen always stood out as a leading voice for the industry,” says Alison Janzen, Director of Marketing & Business Development, Torkin Manes LLP. “Not just a leader of people, she also took a leading role in shaping the Canadian legal magazine industry.”

Lorimer was also instrumental as one of the original instructors in launching Humber College’s Media Advertising Sales diploma program, and continued to mentor young professionals through teaching at Humber College.
In recognition of Lorimer’s 40 plus years of experience in the field of Canadian media and publishing, her commitment as a mentor, and her incredible leadership qualities, the National Media Awards Foundation is thrilled to recognize Lorimer with our most prestigious individual award, the B2B Leadership Award. Congratulations, Karen!

2020 B2B Leadership Award

Members of the Canadian B2B media industry: Is there a member of your team who has made outstanding career achievements and contributions to the industry? Someone who has demonstrated incredible leadership? Consider nominating them for the 2020 B2B Leadership Award

This award is open to journalists, writers, creators, editors, publishers, art directors, circulation experts, marketing, sales and promotion professionals, and production managers.

Applications for the NMA: B2B’s Leadership Award are open until March 2, 2020, and the entry fee is only $25. Click here to download a PDF with everything you need to know about the award. 

How to Enter

Submissions should include:

  • A cover letter that indicates the candidate’s name, title, and a summary of their career achievements, including links to or examples of their work
  • Two supporting letters from other individuals

Note that the entries submission package should consist of a single PDF (with a maximum of 10 pages). 

No hard copies are required. Simply email the PDF to staff@magazine-awards.com

Good luck!

Final Call for Entries

February 1st is your last opportunity to take part in the National Magazine Awards: B2B! These inaugural, much-anticipated awards recognize the best of Canada’s B2B publishing industry, rewarding individual creators with a $500 cash prize.

Interested in submitting? The process is painless: visit our online portal, enter the submission(s) details, pay the fee, and you’re on your way!

Our team is here to answer any questions you may have (email us at staff@magazinewards.com) and our Twitter feed is where you’ll find updates and nominations announcements.

Note that the deadline for the B2B Leadership Award is March 1st, 2019.

Enter: 2019 B2B Leadership Award

Copy of NMA_ b2b TwitterCard copy.png

The National Media Awards Foundation is calling for nominations for the 2019 B2B Leadership Award. The inaugural award will be presented to an individual who has made significant contributions to the Canadian B2B media industry while demonstrating leadership and career achievement. This award is open to anyone working in the B2B publishing industry, including: journalists, writers, creators, editors, publishers, art directors, circulation experts, marketing, sales and promotion professionals, and production managers.

Nominations are welcome from anyone involved with Canadian B2B magazines, and must consist of:

  • A cover letter indicating the candidate’s name, title, and a summary of their career achievements, including links to or examples of their work;
  • At least two supporting letters from other individuals.

Send your nomination package (which should be a single PDF file, not longer than 10 pages in length) to staff@nmab2b.com by March 1, 2018.

We will announce the B2B Leadership Award winner in April, and present them with their award at the inaugural NMA: B2B gala. Please click here for more information on this award, and to view the program’s entire list of award categories.